New Year brings a New Project

I have decided it is time to return to beading and make that my craft emphasis this year.

I was once really into beading, then patchwork, quilting and tatting lured me away.   The past year I kept really busy with the CQJP and TAST challenges, as well as trying to keep up with the Online Tatting Class projects as well.

In October I joined the Seedbeadsters Yahoo group which issues a monthly beadalong, and as I completed the first project or two, realized how much I had missed beading (and how large a stash of beads I had)!

I am a big fan of Facebook and how it unites communities of likeminded people all around the globe.  I began to look for a Facebook group that was for beaders who work primarily with seed beads, liked to share ideas and patterns, and had not become just a venue for crafters to sell their projects.  I was surprised that there really didn’t seem to be many, if any, such groups.  I put a few feelers out among craft friends to see if they would be interested in joining a new group.

With a few affirmative replys, on January 20, I started the Facebook group, Seed Beads and More.  It’s purpose would be to give beaders a platform to share their work, ideas, questions, and patterns.  No advertising would be allowed.

fb To keep interest up, I would issue an optional beading challenge periodically, about every 5 – 6 weeks.

The response truly has amazed me.  Within less than two weeks, we now have over 100 members, and more joining daily!

If you would like to become a member, you can find the page here.  Just click “Join this group”.  We are a closed group, in order to avoid spamming.  Within a few days of request, you will be admitted to the group.

Leave a Reply

