CQJP January and TAST Week 3

Featherstitch is the stitch of the week for week 3 of TAST (Take A Stitch Tuesday).  I’ve often admired the featherstitch seams on vintage crazy quilt blocks.

Stitching it seemed a lot like the Fly Stitch of Week 1 to me.

Feather stitch

For the sampler, I let my imagination run wild.  The stitch brought the image of a vine to mind.

fence2

Imagine an old deserted homestead… the house has weathered siding and is missing shingles… weeds have taken over the yard… but the front gate is still standing, even though a couple of its pickets are broken… and a little wild vine has decided to use it for a trellis, creating a spot of beauty in the midst of abandonment.

tast week 3a

Week’s 1, 2, and 3 result:

tast week 3

Then, it was on to add the stitch to my CQJP (Crazy Quilt Journal Project) January Block, “Starry, Starry Night”.

This time I let the stitch become the trail left by a falling star that I tatted.

IMG_5602

The star was tatted with one strand embroidery floss combined with 1 strand of Balger metallic blending filament.  The trail was stitched with two strands of the blending filament.  I wanted to trail to sparkle, but not be too prominent.  The filament was not the easiest medium to embroider with, but I achieved the result I was after.

2 thoughts on “CQJP January and TAST Week 3

Leave a comment